Diablo Cyclists on Alhambra Valley Road

Diablo Cyclists on Alhambra Valley Road in Martinez. Photo credit: Stephen Herrick.

Located 30 miles east of San Francisco in Walnut Creek, California, the Diablo Cyclists is a recreational road, touring and off road bicycle club. We are focused on providing cyclists of all levels an opportunity to ride, train and socialize with other bicycle enthusiasts. Our emphasis is more on the fitness, skill building, and social aspects of bicycling and less on racing. Please come out on one of our rides and get to know the friendly members of the Diablo Cyclists.

There is some very sad news regarding one of our members. Craig Martinelli passed away recently and will be sorely missed. He and his brother, Brian, are the only two remaining active members of the Diablo Cyclists. Craig loved cycling, being outdoors, and being part of the club. Many of us have logged long miles riding together with him. Our condolences and sympathies go out to his family and friends.

There will be a memorial service for him on Tuesday at 10:00 at Oakmont Memorial in Lafayette. Hope to see you there.

Ride Schedule

See the ride schedule page for more details. All rides leave at 9:00AM from Heather Farm Park in Walnut Creek unless otherwise noted. Meet at the north end of the park near the restrooms at the baseball field parking area.

Saturday May 27
Palomares Canyon (Check road status)

60/50mi. rating:R/MH/M

Sunday May 28
Crockett Waterfront

40mi. rating:R/MH/M

Monday May 29
Memorial Day Show and Go

?mi. rating:?/?/?

Saturday Jun 3
Livermore Loop

50mi. rating:R/MH/M

Sunday Jun 4
Club Breakfast Ride and other Destinations

20mi. rating:A/F/M

Saturday Jun 10
Peet's Coffee in Berkeley via Wildcat

50/35mi. rating:R/H/M

Sunday Jun 11
Moraga and Glorietta Loop

35mi. rating:R/MH/M

Saturday Jun 17
Cheese Factory and Tomales Bay

60mi. rating:R/MH/M

Saturday Jun 17
In Town Option: Sunol and Kilkare

65mi. rating:R/F-R/M

Sunday Jun 18
Club Breakfast Ride and other Destinations

20mi. rating:A/F/M

Saturday Jun 24
Three Bears and Reverse Refinery Ride

60/45mi. rating:R/H/M

Sunday Jun 25
Carquinez Scenic Ride

40mi. rating:R/MH/M

Saturday Jul 1
Palomares Canyon

60/50mi. rating:R/MH/M

Sunday Jul 2
Club Breakfast Ride and other Destinations

20mi. rating:A/F/M

Tuesday Jul 4
Independence Day Show and Go

?mi. rating:?/?/?