Diablo Cyclists on Alhambra Valley Road

Diablo Cyclists on Alhambra Valley Road in Martinez. Photo credit: Stephen Herrick.

Located 30 miles east of San Francisco in Walnut Creek, California, the Diablo Cyclists is a recreational road, touring and off road bicycle club. We are focused on providing cyclists of all levels an opportunity to ride, train and socialize with other bicycle enthusiasts. Our emphasis is more on the fitness, skill building, and social aspects of bicycling and less on racing. Please come out on one of our rides and get to know the friendly members of the Diablo Cyclists.

Spring is coming! With Daylight Saving Time we will resume the Wednesday evening Mount Diablo rides. We ride up Northgate Road to the junction ranger station. We usually smooze for a while at the junction and then ride back down Northgate, or go down Southgate and back on Danville Boulevard. Sometimes a few will go to the summit. There are two starting points: Heather Farms park, or the Mormon church on Northgate, one block from Castle Rock. The Heather Farms riders start first and swing by the church 15 minutes later.

The rides resume on March 11. The starting time depends on how much daylight we have. The schedule is as follows:

Months Heather Farm Mormon Church
March & April 4:30 4:45
May through August 5:15 5:30
September 4:45 5:00
October 4:30 4:45

Ride Schedule

See the ride schedule page for more details. All rides leave at 9:00AM from Heather Farm Park in Walnut Creek unless otherwise noted. Meet at the north end of the park near the restrooms at the baseball field parking area.

Wednesday Evenings
Mt. Diablo to the Junction & Beyond

20mi. rating:R/H/M

Saturday Mar 28
Castro Valley Loop

50mi. rating:R/H/M

Saturday Mar 28
Davis 300K Brevet

300Kmi. rating:

Sunday Mar 29
Bollinger Canyon

40mi. rating:R/MH/M

Friday Apr 3
Good Friday Show and Go

?mi. rating:?/?/?

Saturday Apr 4
Peet's Coffee in Berkeley via Wildcat

50/35mi. rating:R/H/M

Sunday Apr 5
Club Breakfast Ride and other Destinations

20mi. rating:A/F/M

Saturday Apr 11
Livermore Loop

50mi. rating:R/MH/M

Saturday Apr 11
Tierra Bella Century

35-122mi. rating:

Sunday Apr 12
Carquinez Scenic Ride

40mi. rating:R/MH/M

Saturday Apr 18
Palomares Canyon

60/50mi. rating:R/MH/M

Saturday Apr 18
Cinderella Century

65/85mi. rating:

Sunday Apr 19
Club Breakfast Ride and other Destinations

20mi. rating:A/F/M

Saturday Apr 25
Morgan Territory

55mi. rating:R/H/M

Saturday Apr 25
Devil Mountain Double

200mi. rating:

Sunday Apr 26
Pig Farm, the Three Bears and Glorietta

35mi. rating:R/MH/M

Sunday Apr 26
Chico Wildflower

31-128mi. rating:

Saturday May 2
Cull Canyon

60/50mi. rating:R/MH/M

Sunday May 3
Club Breakfast Ride and other Destinations

20mi. rating:A/F/M

Sunday May 3
Delta Century

26-100mi. rating:

Sunday May 3
Grizzly Peak Century

76-110mi. rating:

Saturday May 9
Central Coast Double

197/211mi. rating:

Saturday May 16
Davis Double

200mi. rating: